2012 D*S Scholarship Winners

by Grace Bonney

It makes me endlessly happy to finish up this year’s posting schedule by announcing our 2012 D*S Scholarship winners. Every year, it’s the highlight of my work season to look through applicants and get inspired all over again by the amazing wealth of talent in our community. From budding high school artists to more seasoned graduate student designers, this year’s crop of candidates was incredibly talented and inspired thousands of you to come out and vote and comment in their favor. After last week’s voting, your input chose our final winners — and here they are! Congrats again to all our finalists, and thank you to everyone who entered, voted and supported this year’s scholarship. I can’t wait to see what comes next for these talented artists and designers. xo, grace

High School Winner
Pia Graham

Undergraduate Winners
1st place: Dominique Savidge
2nd place: Jennifer Bernstein
3rd place: Amber Esner
4th place: Kelsie Conley

Graduate Winners
1st place: Ashely Peifer
2nd place: Sara Plantefève-Castryck
3rd place: Amanda McCavour
4th place: Elisabeth McNair

Thank you again to our 2012 sponsors, O’More College of Design, West Elm, BRIKA and Parsons for generously donating this year’s awards.

Suggested For You


Leave a Reply

Design*Sponge reserves the right to restrict comments that do not contribute constructively to the conversation at hand, that comment on people's physical appearance, contain profanity, personal attacks, hate speech or seek to promote a personal or unrelated business. Our goal is to create a safe space where everyone (commenters, subjects of posts and moderators) feels comfortable to speak. Please treat others the way you would like to be treated and be willing to take responsibility for the impact your words may have on others. Disagreement, differences of opinion and heated discussion are welcome, but comments that do not seek to have a mature and constructive dialogue will not be published. We moderate all comments with great care and do not delete any lightly. Please note that our team (writers, moderators and guests) deserve the same right to speak and respond as you do, and your comments may be responded to or disagreed with. These guidelines help us maintain a safe space and work toward our goal of connecting with and learning from each other.